Governor McAuliffe appoints new members to Radford University Board of Visitors

Gov. Terry McAuliffe announced June 2, 2017 that he has appointed three new members to the Radford University Board of Visitors (BOV) for terms effective July 1, 2017. Named to the BOV are:

Gregory A. Burton, of Charleston, West Va., serves as executive chairman of BrickStreet Mutual Insurance Company and Motorists Mutual Insurance Company. He leads The BrickStreet Foundation and has served as BrickStreet's top leader in the roles of chief executive officer from 2015-2016 and president from 2006-2015. Additionally, he previously served as executive director of the West Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission; Cabinet Secretary of the West Virginia Department of Administration; city manager of Charleston; chair and board member of the West Virginia Health Care Authority; assistant vice president, Investment Banking with Ferris, Baker Watts; vice president, Head of Corporate Trust with Bank One; and assistant vice president of Bank of West Virginia. Burton earned a Master of Business Administration from the University of Kentucky and a Bachelor of Science in business, with a concentration in management and marketing, from the University of Charleston.

James R. Kibler, J.D., of Virginia Beach, Va., serves as president of Virginia Natural Gas, a distribution company of Southern Company Gas, a wholly owned subsidiary of Southern Company. Additionally, he previously served as Southern Company Gas' senior vice president of external affairs and public policy. Before joining Southern Company Gas in 2005, Kibler was an energy and telecommunications attorney in private legal practice and served as special counsel to the Commonwealth of Virginia on various matters. Kibler serves on the boards of the Virginia Chamber of Commerce, Hampton Roads Chamber of Commerce and the Hampton Roads Business Roundtable. He also is a member of the Lead Virginia Class of 2017 and the advisory board of The Mead Endowment at The University of Virginia. He is immediate past chair of the American Gas Association's legislative committee and serves on the board of directors of Our Nation's Energy Future. He is a past member of the board of trustees of The Georgia Conservancy and of the advisory council for the Trust for Public Lands in Georgia. He has chaired the American Gas Association's task force on energy and environment and the Southern States Energy Board's associate members program. Kibler earned a Doctor of Law, with honors, from University of Richmond and a Bachelor of Arts in history from University of Virginia.

Karyn Moran '88, of Midlothian, Va., serves as talent acquisition leader at HHHunt Corporation, which is located in Richmond, Va. She has previously served as client services director at Korn Ferry/Futurestep; director of advocacy and outreach for Girls on the Run of Northern Virginia; client services director at Risesmart; and client services director at Knowledgeworkers, Inc. Moran earned a Bachelor of Science in business management from Radford University in 1988.

"On behalf of the entire Radford University family, I congratulate our new members on their appointments to the Board of Visitors and welcome their leadership and service on the Board," said Radford University President Brian O. Hemphill, Ph.D. "They are joining Radford at an exciting time as we develop our future strategic plan that will transform Radford University into an innovative, premier university in the Commonwealth of Virginia and beyond with a keen focus on teaching, research and service."

President Hemphill also acknowledged the service of outgoing BOV members Callie M. Dalton '82, Alethea "A.J." Robinson and Christopher R. Wade. "We are grateful for their tireless dedication to Radford University – our students, faculty, staff, alumni and community of supporters. Their selfless contributions and leadership have ensured that Radford is better positioned to serve current and future students. I am also personally thankful and indebted for their support during this past year as I transitioned to becoming Radford's seventh president. The hospitality they extended to Marisela and our family have validated that Radford University is indeed a special place that is predicated on service to others."

Dalton, of Roanoke, Va., served on the BOV from 2013 to 2017, including as vice chair of the University Advancement, University Relations and Enrollment Management Committee from 2014 to 2017 and as the BOV liaison to the Radford University Foundation since 2015.

Robinson, of Bluefield, Va., served on the BOV from 2013 to 2017, including as vice chair of the Student Affairs Committee from 2014 to 2015; chair of the Advancement/Alumni Relations and Communications/Marketing Committee from 2014 to 2015; chair of the Governance, Administration and Athletics Committee from 2015 to 2017; co-chair of the Presidential Transition Committee in 2016; and co-chair of the Presidential Inauguration Committee in 2016.

Wade, of Fairfax, Va., served on the BOV from 2014 to 2017, as vice rector from 2015 to 2016, which included the presidential selection process; as rector from 2016 to 2017, which included the presidential transition process and inauguration; and chair of the Executive Committee from 2016 to 2017.

Dalton, Robinson and Wade were recognized at the May 5, 2017 BOV meeting with unanimously approved resolutions of appreciation.

Jun 2, 2017