Home About the SCI Apply Now SCI Courses News and Events Contact Us

About the Advisory Council

This page is kind of a mess. I have no idea what it is trying to do or be.

The Advisory Council is constituted of individuals – faculty and staff – with experience, knowledge, and/or expertise relevant to the Scholar-Citizen initiative.  Members of the Council have agreed to act as consultants and liaisons as the SCI continues to evolve and different aspects of the initiative are brought online.  

The Advisory Council has experts and current practitioners of engaged pedagogies from across divisions and academic units, and its cross-disciplinary nature enables the SCI Leadership--comprised of the Director and the Steering Committee--to get a variety of perspectives on issues related to the SCI while also allowing Council members to weigh in on the parts of the initiative for which their experience or expertise makes their point of view especially relevant.

Members of the Radford University community who wish to serve as a member of the council should contact the Scholar-Citizen Office (540-831-2569) or the Director, Erin Webster-Garrett (540-831-7149).

Dr. Guy Axtell
Assistant Professor
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Critical Thinking Coordinator, Core Curriculum
gsaxtell@radford.edu    

Dr. Kevin Ayers
Associate Professor
Health and Human Performance
ekayers@radford.edu  

Dr. Jack Brockway
Associate Professor
Physics
brockway@radford.edu

Ashlee Claud
Director of Radio & Communication Services
aclaud@radford.edu

Dr. Betty Dore
Professor
School of Teacher Education & Leadership
edore@radford.edu

Dr. Guy Axtell
Assistant Professor
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Critical Thinking Coordinator, Core Curriculum
gsaxtell@radford.edu      

Dr. Jack Brockway
Associate Professor
Physics
brockway@radford.edu




Dr. Scott Dunn
Assistant Professor
School of Communication
Oral Communication Core Coordinator, Core Curriculum 
swdunn@radford.edu

Dr. Bill Hrezo
Professor
Political Science
whrezo@radfor.edu

Dr. Jennifer Juul
Associate Professor
Theatre
jjuul@radford.edu

Ms. Teresa King
Interim Director
International Education
tking54@radford.edu

Dr. Bill Kovarik
Professor
School of Communication
wkovarik@radford.edu

Dr. Tom Lachowicz
Instructor, Special Purpose
Marketing
tlachowi@radford.edu

Dr. Mary LaLone
Professor
Sociology
mlalone@radford.edu

Dr. Hilary Lips
Chair and Professor
Psychology
hlips@radford.edu

Dr. Glen Martin
Professor
Philosophy & Religious Studies
gmartin@radford.edu

Dr. Deborah McLaughlin
Associate Professor
Dance
dmclaughl7@radford.edu

Dr. Jeanne Mekolichick
Associate Professor and Interim Chair
Sociology
jmekolic@radford.edu

Dr. Sandy Moore    
Director, STEL
sjmoore@radford.edu

Dr. Frank Napolitano
Assistant Professor
English
Director, Graduate Teaching Fellowship Program
fnapolitano@radford.edu

Dr. Tony Ramsey
CHHS, Nursing
arramsey@radford.edu

Dr. Michelle Ren
Assistant Professor
English and Women’s Studies
mren2@radford.edu

Dr. Bob Sheehy
Professor
Biology
rsheehy@radford.edu

Dr. Fran Steigerwald
Associate Dean
College of Education and Human Development
Director of Field Experience
fjsteiger@radford.edu

Ms. Ellen Taylor
Interim Director
Career Services
eltaylor@radford.edu

Dr. Melinda Wagner
Professor
Sociology
mwagner@radford.edu