

# EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING 7:30 A.M. JULY 24, 2023 THE HOTEL ROANOKE & CONFERENCE CENTER 110 SHENANDOAH AVENUE, ROANOKE, VA

## DRAFT MINUTES

#### **COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT**

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector

Mr. Marquett Smith, Vice Rector

Mr. Robert A. Archer, (Ex officio)

Ms. Jeanne Armentrout, (AESSC)

Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert, (EMBEC)

Mr. Tyler W. Lester, (BAAC)

Ms. Lisa W. Pompa, (EEC)

Mr. David A. Smith, (SAAC)

### **OTHERS PRESENT**

Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President

Ms. Karen Casteele, Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

Mr. Steve Capaldo, Office of the Attorney General

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector, called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m. in the Blue Ridge Boardroom. Rector McMahon welcomed new members and thanked the committee chairs for agreeing to serve during the upcoming year.

#### COMMITTEES DISCUSSION AND PLANNING FOR UPCOMING YEAR

Rector McMahon emphasized that with the important work needing to be accomplished, she would like to take this time for members to share what they see as the most important aspects for working together in the year ahead.

Committee members shared thoughts on working cohesively, how to make meetings more efficient and the importance of supporting the President and working together to move the university forward.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

With no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 7:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ms. Karen Casteele Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

# **End of Board of Visitors Materials**

