

SPECIAL MEETING 1:00 P.M. JANUARY 25, 2023 ALL-VIRTUAL MEETING

DRAFT MINUTES

BOARD MEMBERS PARTICIPATING BY ELECTRONIC COMMMUNICATION

Dr. Debra McMahon, Rector

Mr. Robert A. Archer

Ms. Jeanne S. Armentrout

Dr. Rachel D. Fowlkes

Mr. George Mendiola, Jr.

Ms. Lisa W. Pompa

Mr. David A. Smith

Mr. Marquett Smith

Ms. Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham

Ms. Lisa Throckmorton

Mr. James C. Turk

BOARD MEMBERS NOT PARTICIPATING

Dr. Jav A. Brown, Vice Rector

Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert

Mr. Mark S. Lawrence

Mr. Tyler W. Lester

OTHERS PARTICIPATING

Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President

Ms. Karen Casteele, Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

Dr. Marten L. denBoer, Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Steven Bachrach, Dean of Artis College of Science and Technology

Dr. Joy Bhadury, Dean of Davis College of Business and Economics

Dr. Stephanie Caulder, Dean of College of Visual and Performing Arts

Dr. Kenneth M. Cox, Dean of Waldron College of Health and Human Services

Dr. Wendy Downey, Interim Dean of School of Nursing

Dr. Matthew J. Smith, Dean of College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences

Dr. Tamara Wallace, Dean of College of Education and Human Development

Mr. Mike Melis, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General

CALL TO ORDER

Rector Debra K. McMahon called the special meeting of the Radford University Board of Visitors to order at 1 p.m. Rector McMahon stated that this was an all-virtual meeting and a link to view the meeting was provided to the public. Rector McMahon added that the purpose of the meeting is to have an in-depth conversation about faculty workload optimization which would be difficult during a regular Board meeting because of time limitations.

OVERVIEW OF FACULTY WORKLOAD OPTIMIZATION OPPORTUNITIES

President Danilowicz provided additional background for the meeting. President Danilowicz stated that Radford University has a strong record of teaching excellence and has traditionally measured productivity of faculty by courses taught. In December 2022, the Board approved a change in the Teaching and Research Faculty Handbook that removed the workload requirement and provides more flexibility in how faculty could use their time to benefit students. President Danilowicz added that he appreciates the deans working together with their department chairs and faculty to create a starting place for exploring new opportunities and creating change.

Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Marten denBoer added that our greatest challenges are recruiting and retaining students, and faculty are our greatest resource in engaging our students in meaningful ways. Optimizing these opportunities for workload adjustments will be new and create excitement.

Introduced by College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences Dean Matthew J. Smith, each dean gave a presentation on ideas developed within their colleges.

As a recruitment strategy, Davis College of Business and Economics Dean Joy Bhadury shared an idea from a faculty member for expanded recruitment efforts with homeschooled children. College of Visual and Performing Arts Dean Stephanie Caulder shared the concept of Department Recruitment Coordinators. College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences Dean Matthew J. Smith discussed additional activities with the Mock Trial initiation. Interim Dean of School of Nursing Wendy Downey shared that at this point, Nursing will continue doing their specialized activities for recruiting and retention without adding new projects dues to the number of vacant faculty positions. As retention strategies, Waldron College of Health and Human Services Dean Kenneth M. Cox shared that the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders has converted office hours into a study hall. College of Education and Human Development Dean Tamara Wallace presented a program for mentorship of at-risk students.

Following the presentations, the Board members engaged in conversation about how these opportunities will create change while building on the strengths of the university, including faculty and student engagement and mentorship.

OTHER BUSINESS

Rector McMahon brought forward an amendment to the Bylaws, Section 4 – Officers. The amendment adds the sentence "The Rector will appoint a Nominating Committee and designate the Chair of the Committee." And removes the sentence, "The Rector will appoint a Nominating Committee and designate the Chair of the Committee." The reason for the change is that the Governance, Administration and Athletics Committee no longer exists. A copy of the resolution is attached hereto as *Attachment A* and is made a part hereof.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Board, Rector McMahon adjourned the meeting at 2:41 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Casteele Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

Radford University Board of Visitors Resolution

Amendment to the Bylaws

Now Therefore Be It Resolved, the Board of Visitors hereby amends the Radford University Board of Visitors Bylaws, as follows:

Section 4 – Officers

- A. Officers. The officers of the Board are Rector and Vice Rector.
- **B.** Election and Terms. The officers are elected by the Board at the annual meeting of the Board and shall serve a term of one year.
 - 1. Nominating Committee. The Rector will appoint a Nominating Committee and designate the Chair of the Committee. The Governance, Administration and Athletics Committee acts as the Nominating Committee for officers of the Board. The Committee is to call for nominations from members of the Board annually, following the last regular meeting of the Board. Nominations from members are to be submitted in writing to the Chair no later than ten days after that call. The Committee will meet prior to the annual meeting to determine which nominations will be presented to the Board. The Committee may offer more than one nominee for an office.
 - 2. Nominations from the Floor. Nominations from the floor will be taken.

Approved: January 25, 2023

Debra K. McMahon, Ph.D.

Rector

Radford University Board of Visitors

Karen Casteele

Secretary to the Board of Visitors

Radford University

End of Board of Visitors Materials

