# Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate Business Meeting

May 19, 2021 Zoom

**Members Present:** Jessie Beckett, Sandra Bond, Andy Borak, Ashlee Claud, Vanessa Conner, Emily Ewoldt, Mel Fox, Alix Guynn, James Harman, Steve Harrison, Kay Johnson, Chip Mann, Mary Catherine Santoro, Malinda Tasler

**Guests**: Sarah Cox, Susan Hudson, Debra Johnson, Allison McCoy, D.J. Preston, Andrea Sharpe, Tom Snediker, Jon Zeitz

- 1. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 3:30 pm by President Ashlee Claud.
- **2. Approval of Minutes**: The minutes from April 21, 2021 were approved.
- **3. Election Results/Introductions:** Everyone in the Zoom introduced themselves. See 2021/2022 Roster at the end of the minutes for the new and returning senators.
- **4. Bylaws Committee Update:** Ashlee Claud introduced and explained the rationale for the following proposed changes to the Bylaws (a proposed deletion is crossed out and new text is in red below):
  - a. Article VI. Section 3 (Secretary Duties)
    Proposed: The Secretary shall record all official proceedings of the meetings of this Senate and the Executive Committee of this Senate and transmit the proceedings to the President and the Executive Committee. The Secretary will maintain the website and/or social media for the Senate.
  - b. Article V. Section 2 (Officer Elections) Proposed: The officers of the Senate shall be elected no earlier than July 1 by the members of the Senate at or before the first meeting of the fiscal year. Elections will be led by the Past President and shall be determined by a plurality of votes cast.
  - c. Article VIII Committees (Add Standing Nominations & Elections Committee) Section 3 – The Nominations & Elections Committee for Senators shall be comprised of a minimum of three members of the Senate who are not up for re-election, including one member of the Executive Committee. The members of the committee shall be appointed at the first meeting of the fiscal year. The committee shall follow the rules set out in Article IV of the Bylaws.

A motion was raised and seconded to approve all changes. The motion passed by vote.

5. Morale Survey Committee Update: The committee reviewed HR's DEI question suggestion, and added the following under the survey's Respect/Appreciation question: I have considered leaving Radford University because I have felt isolated or unwelcomed. After Senate discussion, reasons to spend time on work tasks outside of work was changed to allow choosing all that apply. In an informal vote, the Senate agreed the survey was ready to distribute. The survey will be distributed through Qualtrix to all AP Faculty on May 24, and will be open through June 11.

#### 6. New Business:

- a. June Meeting: Do we need to meet in June? The Senate voted No.
- b. July Meeting: The next meeting is July 21. The Senate agreed to meet at 3:00 instead of 3:30 to accommodate those on summer schedules.

c. June 15 Limited Event: Senate officers who served during President Hemphill's tenure are invited to the dedication of Hemphill Hall, which, for AP Senate are Ashlee, Sandra, Alix & Kay. The event is also a send-off for President Brian O. Hemphill. Senate presidents have been invited to say a few words on a personal level about Dr. Hemphill. Ashlee will speak, but since Past-President Sandra is unable to attend, Alix, as a past Vice President, will speak in her place.

#### 7. Upcoming Events:

- Virtual CAIC Groundbreaking: The groundbreaking for the Center for Adaptive Innovation and Creativity will be on Tuesday May 25 at 3:00 pm. A link will be sent out.
- Employee Appreciation Day: The university is closed on Friday, May 28 in appreciation and gratitude of employee service.
- 4. Adjournment The meeting ended at 4:12 pm.

#### **Future Meeting Date:**

July 21

(Senate Roster is on the next page.)

## Administrative/Professional Faculty Senate 2021-2023

Senator	Area Represented	Term	Email	Phone
Jessica Beckett	Academic Affairs	2020- 2022	jbeckett3@radford.edu	831-7113
Sarah Cox	Academic Affairs	2021- 2023	scox1@radford.edu	985-8449
Melanie Fox	Academic Affairs	2021- 2023	mfox5@radford.edu	831-5654
Tom Snediker	Academic Affairs	2021- 2023	tsnediker@radford.edu	831-5974
Sandra Bond	Advancement & University Relations	2021- 2023	smbond@radford.edu	831-6757
Vanessa Conner	Advancement & University Relations	2020- 2022	vconner@radford.edu	831-7757
James Harman	Advancement & University Relations	2020- 2022	jharman@radford.edu	831-7749
Alix Guynn	Central Administration	2020- 2022	mguynn2@radford.edu	831-6717
Allison McCoy	Central Administration	2021- 2023	aotis@radford.edu	831-5363
Malinda Tasler	Central Administration	2020- 2022	mtasler@radford.edu	831-5455
Jon Zeitz	Central Administration	2021- 2023	jzeitz@radford.edu	831-7280
Emily Ewoldt	Enrollment Management	2020- 2022	eewoldt@radford.edu	831-5785
Debra Johnson	Enrollment Management	2021- 2023	djjohnson@radford.edu	985-8492
Melissa Neal	Enrollment Management	2021- 2023	mneal1@radford.edu	831-5469
Stephen Harrison	Finance and Administration	2020- 2022	rsharriso@radford.edu	831-7804
Eric Lovik	Finance and Administration	2021- 2023	elovik@radford.edu	831-5099
Ashlee Claud	Finance and Administration	2021- 2023	aclaud@radford.edu	831-5017
Chip Mann	Finance and Administration	2020- 2022	cmann8@radford.edu	831-6501
Kay Johnson	Library	2020- 2022	kjohnson497@radford.edu	831-5703
Mary Catherine Santoro	Radford University Carilion	2020- 2022	msantoro@radford.edu	985-8485
Elizabeth Craft	Student Affairs	2020- 2022	ecraft5@radford.edu	831-6379
Susan Hudson	Student Affairs	2021- 2023	smhill@radford.edu	831-6735
Andrea Sharpe- Robinson	Student Affairs	2021- 2023	asharpe4@radford.edu	831-6350

### **Cabinet Liaison**

		2018-		
Susan Trageser	Cabinet	2022	strageser@radford.edu	