Start: 1:02pm GAC Minutes

9/13/2019

**Attendees:** Liz Altieri, Benjamin Biermeier-Hanson, Brad Bizell, Tracy Cohn, Jeannine Everhart, Lauren Flora, Kellie Garahan, Kay Johnson, Amanda Kellogg, William Kolb, Sheila Krajnik, Kristin Machac, Philip Mongan, Jennifer Powell, Carrie Sanders, Robert Trent, Brent Webb, Amy Wix, Shuo Yao, Marjorie Young

Staff: Erin Hilton (recorder), Phil Hardy, Teri Hills, Michele Ralston

Introductions

## **Announcements:**

Commencement: Friday December 13th @5:00pm

- Students can still apply
- RUC does not have to reapply if they did it before the merger.

#### Questions:

- 1. Can we see who has applied and who hasn't?
- 2. Do you know for sure if it'll be the 13<sup>th</sup>?
  - a. It'll be Friday morning in Roanoke, time tba.

<u>Handbook:</u> Thank you for sending them. If you haven't sent them, please do.

#### General Announcements:

- Human subject form Should be sent to Radford University IRB committee and Carillion IRB committee
- Research and Compliance is moving to the Buchanan House
- Admit should work smoother, no flash is needed.

### Old Business: None

#### New Business:

Dr. Amanda Kellogg and Dr. Katie Garahan – Suggestions about writing support?
We want to help our Graduate Students.

## Suggestions:

- 1. Can evening appointments be offered because our student work during the day?
- Could there be online modules available for the Graduate Students?
- Removal of ACPR- What format are looking for?
  - 1. The proposals will be reviewed by staff (Teri)

2. We are working on an electronic workflow. All ACPR proposals will flow from the Graduate College then the attached proposal will be uploaded to One Drive. Final decisions will be sent out one week prior to the meeting.

# GAC Committee Assignments:

- Academic Course and Program Review Committee Brad Bizell, Amanda Kellogg, Jeff Pittges, Gary Schirr, Kristin Machac, Philip Mongan and Sheila Krajnik
- Policies and Procedures Committee Darryl Corey, Amanda Kellogg, William Kolb, Jeff Pittges, Kristin Machac, Gary Schirr (Milena Staykova and Patty Vari to be emailed)
- Graduate Faculty Committee Gary Schirr, Robert Trent, Liz Alteri, Shuo Yao, Lauren Flora, Jeff Pittges, and Jeannine Everhart
- Grievance Committee Robert Trent, Carrie Sanders, Marjorie Young, Jeff Pittges and Lori Ellis

Subcommittee Reports:

Meeting Adjourned: 1:54pm