Programs Faculty Opportunities Facilities

Retired and Emeritus Faculty

We current faculty members are sincerely grateful for the years (often decades) of service and leadership provided by those who are enjoying retirement.

Singer_Frederick

Dr. Fred Singer
Years Taught at RU
: 1989-2013
Area of Teaching/Research: Behavioral & Community Ecology
Contact: fsinger@radford.edu

 

 

Kugler

Dr. Charles Kugler
Years Taught at RU
: 1979 - December 2005
Areas of Teaching: General Biology (majors and non-majors), Evolution, Entomology, interdisciplinary courses (General Biology for Nonmajors; Evolution and Creationism; guest lecturer in Peace Studies)
Areas of Research: Comparative morphology and evolution of the sting apparatus in ants; systematics, ecology and behavior of ants. List of publications
Contact: ckugler@radford.edu

Mikesell

Dr. Pat Mikesell
Years Taught at RU
: Sept. 1966- Dec. 2002
Area of Teaching/Research: General Biology, Histology, Microtechniques, General Botany, Field Botany of the Vascular Plants and Regional Flora
Contact: pmikesel@radford.edu

 

Zeakes

Dr. Sam Zeakes
Years Taught at RU: 1984-2008
Areas of Teaching: Human Anatomy and Physiology, Human Structure and Function, Human Parasitology, Principles of Biology
Areas of Research: Coccidial parasites of avian species. Cooperated with USDA Parasitology Research Center (Beltsville, MD), relative to some of this avian research. Directed students in parasitology-research investigations and cadaver dissections in Anatomy & Physiology.
Contact: szeakes@radford.edu


Dr. Charles Neal
Years Taught at RU
: 1976-2005
Area of Teaching/Research: Human Anatomy and Physiology, Comparative Animal Physiology
Contact: cmneal@radford.edu


Dr. Dave Moore
Years Taught at RU
: 1963-1968, 1972-1989 (occasionally); 1990-1996 
Other Positions at RU: Dean, School of Natural Sciences 1969-1971; Vice President for Academic Affairs 1972-1989; Selu Conservancy 1996-2006.
Area of Teaching/Research: General Biology, Ecology, Ornithology
Contact: djmoore@radford.edu


Dr. Judy Niehaus
Years Taught
: Through Dec. 2013
Area of Teaching/Research: Cell Biology
Contact: jniehaus@radford.edu