Graduate Teaching Fellows Mentoring Program

Coordinator: Frank M. Napolitano

Spring 2012 Happenings:

The following are just a couple of ways that members of the GTF Mentoring Program have contributed to the academic community beyond Radford University. We are fortunate to have so many people representing Radford University so well.

On Friday, March 30, the GTF Program's own Dr. Renee Dickinson, Katherine LaRosa, and Zachary Carroll, along with College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences Dean Katherine Hawkins, Dr. Jolanta Wawrzycka, and Ingrid Baker, represented RU at Internationalizing the Curriculum: Finding the world in English, at Virginia Tech. The title of their session was “The World is Your Classroom: English Courses as Vehicles of the International Academic Experience.”

On February 8, faculty mentors Dr. Aryn Bartly, Dr. Michele Ren, and GTF Brenta Blevins presented a poster session titled “Campus as Community: Going Local in Communication and Composition,” at Virginia Tech.

Program Description:

The Graduate Teaching Fellows Program at Radford University provides graduate student instructors with a structured environment in which to build their teaching skills. Our collegial program shares teaching ideas, lesson plans, grading strategies, problems, and successes.

The GTA/F Program supports Radford University’s emphasis on pedagogy. Graduate Teaching Assistants and Fellows are assigned to an experienced English faculty member with whom they work closely in planning and teaching Core classes. This unique learning experience cannot be attained in conventional graduate courses. Applicants should contact Frank Napolitano, GTF Program Coordinator, or Paul Witkowsky, English Graduate Program Coordinator. 

Graduate Teaching Fellows

  • Brenta Blevins
  • Katherine LaRosa
  • Claire Lenviel
  • Joseph Merricks
  • Vanessa Morris
  • Jed Stalker
  • Sara Sturgill
  • Elizabeth Wilbur
  • Marissa Wilder

Graduate Teaching Assistant

  • Zachary Carroll
  • Sarah Dyer
  • Amanda Epperly
  • Danielle French 
  • Christine Gelatt
  • Claire Hall
  • Lindsey Kamerer
  • Chris Lingenfelter
  • Haley Russell
  • Dorothy Skiles

  Faculty Mentors

  • Aryn Bartley
  • Renee Dickinson
  • Kim Gainer
  • Frank Napolitano
  • Michele Ren
  • Donald Secreast
  • Jeff Saperstein
  • Nancy Taylor