Banquet Celebrates Achievements of COBE Students

The College of Business and Economics (COBE) honored its top students in each discipline and inducted 35 students into the Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) honorary fraternity at the joint COBE Honors Banquet and BGS Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, April 19, in Muse Hall.

“You are dining with climbers, not coasters; pioneers, not plodders,” said COBE Dean Faye Gilbert. “Our focus is on asking young people to experience business…actively, globally, and entrepreneurially and these students make that statement a clear truth.”

Beta Gamma Sigma induction ceremony

L to R: Opal Smith, Sherri Desimone, Lindsay Nichols and Christopher Gentile participate in the Beta Gamma Sigma induction ceremony.

Chelsea Webb, a senior finance major, was named the winner of COBE’s first-ever Citizen Scholar Award, and Axel Grossman, assistant professor of finance and accounting, was named the BGS Professor of the Year.  Ashley Hall, a senior finance major, and Gregory Myers, a senior management major, were recognized as co-winners of the Spring 2011 COBE Outstanding Student Awards for Academics and Leadership. John Krajc, a junior marketing major, was awarded the BGS Scholarship and Jordan Salyard, senior economics major, earned The Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key with a 4.0 GPA.  

Webb, the BGS outgoing president, commended the COBE gathering as “a roomful of people who are hard-working, intelligent, bright young students with charisma, desire and passion for the life ahead of them. “      

The International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes academic excellence at the world’s top business schools – those accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Since its founding in 1913, the society has established more than 480 collegiate chapters around the world. Membership in the BGS is limited to COBE juniors and seniors who rank in the top 10 percent of their class or MBA students in the top 20 percent.

The 2011 COBE Outstanding Students include:  Chelsea Webb, accounting;  Jordan Salyard, economics; Ashley Hall, finance; Greg Myers, management, Zachary Burnett, marketing; Joshua King, professional MBA program; and Matthias Schmitt, full-time MBA program.